Geoff Symonds

Geoff Symonds

Like his older brother Stuart, Geoff started his career racing radio controlled cars. He competed with great success in the world championship. Despite this success and despite having sponsors, he found the commitment and chequebook element too much so he decided to follow his brother into the world of Club100 karting.

He made his Club100 debut in 2006, famously qualifying for an A Final at his first attempt and holding off the vastly more experienced Liam Hegarty. Joining Es Car Go for the rookie championship, success was not long in coming and, along with Angus Boath and Ross Andrews, quickly rose through the endurance ranks first in the rookies, intermediate and clubman. Although coming close, they never managed to win the rookie or intermediate championship before being promoted but finally, at their third attempt, won the clubman championship in 2011.

Alongside his endurance commitments, Geoff continued driving with mixed success in the sprint series. The highlight of his sprint career was finishing runner up in the Heavyweight Clubman championship in 2011. After this, he mainly focussed on the endurance and for 2012 moved up to the premier championship with Es Car Go. However, success was slow in coming and Geoff left the team under a cloud at the end of the year to join Harry Landy’s Lairy Pelican team. This move saw no improvement in results but an opportunity was about to present itself: With reigning champions Just So pulling out at the end of 2013, brother Stuart approached Geoff about teaming up for the 2014 season. A competitive first season saw them finish third in the championship and they have continued this success into 2015 by taking their first victory.

Club100 Career

2006 Rookie Endurance Championship 15th
2007 Rookie Endurance Championship 3rd
2008 Heavyweight Sprint Championship 6th
2008 Intermediate Endurance Championship 3rd
2009 Heavyweight Sprint Championship 12th
2009 Clubman Endurance Championship 6th
2010 Heavyweight Sprint Championship 25th
2010 Clubman Endurance Championship 3rd
2011 Clubman Endurance Championship 1st
2011 Heavyweight Clubman Sprint Championship 2nd
2012 Premier Sprint Championship 14th
2012 Premier Endurance Championship 8th
2013 Premier Endurance Championship 10th
2014 Premier Endurance Championship 3rd